Comics Anonymous


AQUAMAN #1 by Linsay @softlyspokenlas
October 4, 2011, 1:50 pm
Filed under: Comic Reviews, DC Comics | Tags: , , ,

Hands up who likes Aquaman? Calm down ‘AquamanShrine’, everyone knows you LOVE Aquaman. Anyone else? Anybody? C’mon somebody? No? Really?


If this was asked at a gathering of comic book fans pre DCnew52 you’d maybe find the odd one. Lets face it, there is just something daft and unbelievable about a dude who lives underwater and talks to fish.

Why is Aquaman more unbelievable and more daft than say, Blue Beetle, Iron Man, Thor, Wonder Woman?

Flashpoint started me thinking about Aquaman in a different way. Maybe even taking me out of my depths of fish-man-racism. He was represented in such a way that I began, for the first time to realise the similarities between his character and that of Wonder Woman. Both are from ancient and mythical civilizations, both are royalty even, but then I remembered, Aquaman still talks to fish BWAHAHAHAHA!!!

Okay, so I went into Aquaman #1 with my blinkers not completely off, maybe I was down to one eye shrouded in a cloak of ‘Aquaman Sucks’ fabric, but I was certainly in a better position than before. Prior to Flashpoint, I wouldn’t have bothered to even read it.

Needless to say, what a folly that would have been. Aquaman is probably the most fun issue of DCnew52. Absolutely hilarious, and in a completely intentional way. This is mostly down to Geoff Johns being back on form with the hot and witty dialogue he is well known for.

Issue #1 combines a nice bit of mystery with a scary underwater ‘ALIEN’ looking alien (is it just me or is that how all aliens seem to look these days?). There is some garden variety crime that Aquaman stops using his big Trident with no flash nor pomp and still manages to get the piss taken out of him by the folks he’s helped. Seems like its not just me who has hangups about this Big Fish Talkin’ Guy.

We also have a bit of a love story going on for Aquaman, which is good. A well written romance would float my boat. As did the hilarious scene in which Aquaman gets interviewed by a blogger whilst trying to eat his lunch.

This issue is taking hold of the Aquaman character, recognising him for what he is seen as in the comic book community, giving us some great belly laughs from it whilst weaving it all in to what is looking to be a great wee story. Nothing world shattering, but fun. And if we’re honest, what we need more of each month is quality FUN comic books.

7/10

Linsay @softlyspokenlas

I recommend you follow Aquaman Shrine @AquamanShrine


8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This was a 5 out of 10 for me only because they spent way too much time making fun of Aquaman for me to even care anymore. Also as much as I like Johns writing (Reis’ art is always amazing) his stories always read better in trade. He tends to use too few words and you wind up reading the comics in like a minute wondering where your 2.99 went. Oh well, good to see Aquaman given another shot at least. I’m sure I will pick this up in trade form eventually.

Comment by greenlightcomics1

It certainly was ‘dialogue light’ but I finished the issue with a real on my chops. Sure the tone was self deprecating, but that made the humour!

Comment by Linsay @softlyspokenlas

I can see that side of it and as long as they build him up after breaking him down it should be fine.

Comment by greenlightcomics1

Loved it! Geoff Johns rocking the Sea King, doesn’t get much better.

Comment by Mary Simmons

Thanks for the shout out, er sort of…Just an note- the Aquaman Shrine isn’t an individual, its an international community of THOUSANDS of Aquaman fans on Blogger, Facebook & Twitter!

Comment by The Aquaman Shrine (@AquamanShrine)

Certainly the best New 52 issue I’ve read, though I’ve only read maybe five. Quite clever of Johns to take the rip out of Aquamna in the diner, kinda meta-textual, like you say we all know he’s daft so why not embrace that?

Comment by bobmitchellinthe21stcentury

[…] way it should be done. If you’re in some major rush to see Wonder Woman or Aquaman, go pick up their own titles (both of which are petty […]

Pingback by JUSTICE LEAGUE #2 « Comics Anonymous

[…] Linsay thought there was too much poking fun at poor old Aquaman in her review of issue #1, I found it hilarious. It also worked on two levels – you’re first reaction is to […]

Pingback by AQUAMAN #2 « Comics Anonymous




Have an opinion? Tell us here...