Comics Anonymous


COMICS ANONYMOUS TALKS TO CULLEN BUNN by G-Man
September 17, 2012, 12:52 pm
Filed under: Interviews | Tags: , , , , , ,

With recent Marvel release ‘Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe’ heading into a 2nd print following it’s success (reviewed here – #1, #2, #3 & #4), Venom hitting a crossover event, Captain America involvement and his own creator-owned series on the go – it’s no wonder that Cullen Bunn seems to be a common name to hear in the comic book world of 2012.  So the Comics Anonymous gang thought we’d fire some questions his way…..and here’s what he had to say…..

You seem to be having a busy time in 2012 with all the titles you are attached to – does it feel that way?

It’s certainly been busy compared to, say, last year this time, but it’s probably not as hectic as it seems. A lot of the books that have been released recently (like DEADPOOL KILLS THE MARVEL UNIVERSE) have been “in the can” from a script perspective for some time. They’re just all coming out around the same time. It’s been pretty crazy to see more than one book with my name on it hitting the stands on the same week.

What are you currently working on?

Right now, I’m working on THE SIXTH GUN. That’s my creator-owned book from Oni Press. Of everything I do, that’s definitely my baby. That series is planned for roughly 50 issues.

I’m also writing VENOM for the foreseeable future. I’ve got big plans for the series.

Other than that, I have a couple of “top secret” projects in the works—some more stuff for Marvel and a couple of unannounced creator-owned projects.

You’ve been quite involved in a number of Captain America storylines – is he a favourite character?

Y’know. I’ve always liked Captain America, but I don’t know that I’d call him a long-time favourite. I remember reading the heck out of a ton of issues during the CAPTAIN AMERICA AND THE FALCON days, and I really liked the character during the Mike Zeck run on the series. Later, in the AVENGERS: STANDOFF storyline, I found that I really liked the way he was presented. And, of course, I love what Brubaker has done with the character.

You currently have Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe on a weekly release from Marvel – do you tackle a weekly release any different than you would a monthly or a one-shot?

I didn’t approach the book differently because when I wrote it I did not know how it would be released. I was working well ahead on that series. I think I finished scripting all four issues before an artist was even selected for it.

Did the “Punisher Kills the Marvel Universe” or even the “Marvel Universe Vs Wolverine/Punisher” titles have any influence on how you tackled the story for Deadpool Kills the MU?

The Punisher one-shot influenced me a bit, sure. I definitely went back and re-read it. More than anything, though, I wanted to make sure I set the Deadpool book apart from it. I didn’t really consider the MARVEL UNIVERSE VS. books because they were so far set apart from “our” Marvel Universe. I wanted this series to take place in the Marvel Universe readers know and love… or at least something very close to it.

 

One of my favourite titles you worked on was Battle Scars following on from the Fear Itself & The Fearless events you were involved in too but how did that go you, Yost & Fraction working on the series?

Basically, we had a number of conference calls and e-mail exchanges discussing what we’d like to see happen with each of those books. From there, Chris tackled scripting BATTLE SCARS and I jumped into THE FEARLESS. First drafts of our scripts were reviewed by the entire team.

You seem to get the chance to co-write with the likes of Matt Fraction, Rick Remender & Ed Brubaker – are there any other writers you’d like to work with?

There are a few writers I’d love to work with. Jason Aaron, Scott Snyder, Jeff Lemire, and Matt Kindt come to mind. Every co-writing gig is a different experience, and I feel like I learn something every time. My first co-writing experience was with THE TOOTH from Oni Press. That was co-written with my pal Shawn Lee.

Will you have any input on the Marvel Now! releases that are due out later this year?

Maybe. We’ll have to wait and see.

With an Eisner award nomination this year for The Sixth Gun will you be aiming to have any more of your creator-owned work released?

Absolutely. I have another creator-owned series (with art by Joelle Jones) starting early next year, and I have a few others that will be released in the next year or so.

Do you get the time to read any comics or is it the last thing you want to do after writing them all day?

I still head to the comic shop every Wednesday. I read and re-read comics these days. The first time, I read them for enjoyment, then I go back and read them to see the techniques and tricks the creative teams used.

Are there any artists out there that you’d like to work with?

I’ve been really lucky in terms of the artists I’ve had the chance to work with. There are so many others I’d be thrilled to get the chance to collaborate with. Chris Samnee, who is a longtime friend, is at the top of the list.

Are there any characters you’d like to write for that you haven’t already?

Tons! I’d love to work on some of Marvel’s supernatural characters. Man-Thing and Werewolf By Night, for example. In terms of other Marvel characters, I’d say Moon Knight, Morbius, Nightcrawler, the X-Men… the list goes on and on. With DC, I’d love to write a revival of the series SCARE TACTICS.

Do you have any plans to visit any of the growing number of UK Comic Conventions in the future?

There are no plans right now, but I’d certainly love to when the opportunity presents itself!

With his name attached to some key Marvel titles, Cullen is definitely a name to keep an eye out for and with the quality of the titles he’s been involved in gaining more and more attention – he’s sure to make an appearance in more Comics Anonymous reviews in the future.  Time to get online and track down some more of his titles….his creator-owned ones in particular.

G-Man


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Have an opinion? Tell us here...

