Comics Anonymous


GLORY #23 by Linsay @softlyspokenlas
March 7, 2012, 5:23 pm
Filed under: Image Comics | Tags: , , , ,

20120307-172147.jpg

Okay, I’ll admit it; I’m a bad feminist. I am more interested in reading a great comic book that seeing a fifty/ fifty gender split and I positively detest quotas like this being shoehorned into comics or any other medium. I am however, ‘a real woman’ and I will also admit to getting pissed off with gravity defying boobs, skimpy battle costumes and the like. Maybe I’m a tough comic fan to please? I don’t think so. I think if creators put the right amount of effort into their characters and stories and let those elements be the focus instead of cramming in as many underrepresented minorities or cleavage shots as they can; we’d see better books, more often. Thankfully, Image’s recently relaunched Glory does just that.

I do a reasonable amount of research into upcoming and new comics, most of it based around previews, emails from my local shop and press releases from publishers. For whatever reason, the announcements surrounding the revamping of Glory passed me by. This is probably a good thing because if i’d known this belter of a book was originally created by Mr Liefeld, there is a good chance I would have said ‘No!’ to that lovely cover, and then I would have really missed out.

The cover of this first issue in the relaunch is exactly the type of thing I like. A cool looking main character, clearly profiled, standing atop a mountain of beastly alien monster entrails and body parts. But wait, there’s more! This main character is a woman who isn’t showing any cleavage, not a lot of leg, has a huge sword and hair styled by an LSD addled ‘My Little Pony’ designer. Okay, so the sword doesn’t show up until the inside cover, but check out the armour! The muscles! The scars! As I do this in wide eyed wonderment, part of me wonders why Her Royal Highness Wonder Woman doesn’t have any scars……..

Although Glory #23 has continued to follow the numbering sequence of its previous incarnations, this is a triumph of a first issue. Having never read any former Glory (get it?) I am unencumbered by a desire to compare to the good old days and free to learn about our exciting heroine from an excellently crafted introduction. Being a respectable reviewer, I have consulted Wikipedia and understand that her origin story has been slightly amended for this revamp. I don’t care either way.

There are elements of Conan, obvious parallels with Wonder Woman and a healthy dollop of Nazi Fightin’ Goodness. The book’s writer has decided to tackle a character who could very easily amount to nothing more than a Diana rip off in a very interesting way. The first ‘superhero’ comic I ever read was Busiek’s Superman: Secret Identity. It opened my eyes to what the genre was capable of. Glory reminds me that their are creators out there who are capable of telling an inventive and original story, inside a ‘comfortable’ genre.

Glory #23 is written by Joe Keatinge who you’ll know from Savage Dragon. As well as being a bass player, which immediately makes him great, he has worked in functional and strong dialogue, only occasionally going overboard with some bubble heavy panels. Art by Ross Campbell, is both expressive and impressive. He conveys a lot of emotion in the relative panels but really excels during the fight scenes.

Glory is a very cool comic book that deserves your attention. This issue was a sell out and I think is headed for a reprint. Even if you ignore the fact that Gloriana is a well written, strong Amazon woman warrior (and how often to we see that in comics eh?) it is worth a look. Great fun.

7/10

Linsay @softlyspokenlas


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Reblogged this on Pwyller's Non-Sports Trading Card Blogobonanza.

Comment by pwyller

You don’t need a 50/5 gender split to be a feminist. True feminism doesn’t relate back to men, whatsoever. Otherise you’re suggesting that the only way to define a woman is by saying that’s she’s ‘not a man’. Feminism is about femininity being truthfully related, and what’s great about this book is how the creative team have no worries about portraying Glory as a bold, brash, brutal warrior. She is what she is, and that’s great fun to read.

Comment by Steve




Have an opinion? Tell us here...

