Comics Anonymous


CAPTAIN ATOM #2 by Linsay @softlyspokenlas
October 25, 2011, 7:27 pm
Filed under: Comic Reviews, DC Comics | Tags: , ,

 

You can read my review of Captain Atom #1 here.

Captain Atom #2 hit shelves looking pretty similar to #1 with a bold cover showing a bit more of the Big Blue Guy and for some reason reminding me a little of this…

Issue 1 hooked me enough to want to buy issue 2 and overall issue 2 has done the same job however, I do feel that my concerns from #1 have not been addressed. The story hasn’t moved on sufficiently and those darker elements that were hinted at/ tacked onto the end of #1 are again only mentioned in passing. Instead issue 2 focusses solely on Captain Atom, his problems and his need to be loved.

Although, where the writing has fallen short of what I expect from a prime DC title, the art has exceeded my expectations. So far in fact, that I am going to buy issue 3 because I am a total sucker for these panels. Particularly the sequence where Cap is rooting around in the child’s brain. The queer pastel colours also make me uneasy in a really good way.

Once again 6/10 please pick up the pace on issue 3 JT

Linsay @softlyspokenlas


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Have an opinion? Tell us here...

