Comics Anonymous


GAME OF THRONES #1 by Linsay @softlyspokenlas
October 8, 2011, 6:23 pm
Filed under: Comic Reviews, Dynamite Comics | Tags: ,

Will Game of Thrones take over from Harry Potter, Twilight and True Blood as the latest multi-format money spinner? Maybe. My first encounter with the franchise was the excellent HBO programme shown on Sky Atlantic. I was totally into it from the first episode and since the end of the first series have read my way through the first four books, loving every minute and devouring every chapter.

Upon hearing about the release of the graphic novelisation of George R.R. Martin’s masterpiece I went into ‘Is it out yet is it out yet is it out yet is it out yet?’ mode at my local comic shop. I was quickly brought right back to earth, with a bang, once I got home and read it.

Always a double edged sword when you are really looking forward to something. In this case, Game of Thrones #1 hasn’t lived up to my expectations and this is all down to the art. So far it seems to have been adapted well, it retains key moments in the story but flows well, like a comic should. The art on the other hand is glaringly digital with individuals faces seemingly distorted, where I don’t believe they are meant to be, especially Daenerys and Viserys. I think Dynamite have made a mistake with the artistic style of this book, and would have been better served by thinking about Alex Ross’ Kirby Genesis covers, or Doug Braithwaite’s Journey into Mystery. This comic book should have had an epic feel to the art to match the scope of the story and instead it looks hurriedly put together.

Lets hope for an improvement in issue #2 as I’m such a sucker for the story that I’ll be getting it anyway!

Linsay @softlyspokenlas


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Have an opinion? Tell us here...

