Comics Anonymous


SPIDER ISLAND, THE AVENGERS: ONE-SHOT by Linsay @softlyspokenlas
September 14, 2011, 2:25 pm
Filed under: Comic Reviews, Marvel Comics | Tags: , , , , , ,

I know what you’re thinking; ‘Does this girl have no fear? Reviewing not one, but two Marvel titles she knows nothing about’! And yes, you may be right. Truth is, in the midst of the DC Reboot I’m enjoying reading something that I have no expectations for. So far, these comic related gambles have paid off. This one in particular, at least if you consider payment in giggles and chuckles to be sufficient reward.

Commonly when seeking out new titles, many of us will look for work by writers and artists whom we already know and love. I’m no different and had a little mini ‘Linsay-Epiphany’ recently when I realised the writer of the phenomenal Red Robin had written this, somewhat bizarre sounding one shot for Marvel. There was also a big frog on the cover and that was a major selling point.

Chris Yost is the man in question and I thoroughly enjoyed his run on Red Robin and I do love a one shot for getting into a series or character I know nothing about.

I purposefully haven’t googled anything about Spider Island. Not because I’m lazy and want to give you an ill informed review but because I want to record my thoughts on this comic as I experienced them; as a new Marvel reader picking up the comic on the basis of the writers name and the giant frog on the cover.

As a new Marvel reader I don’t feel daunted never having previously visited Spider Island. I feel like big Joe Quesada is giving me a wee cuddle and saying ‘its okay hen, here’s whats been happening’ and this is all down to an excellent ‘Previously’ section at the beginning of the book, as well as little boxes of helpfulness wherever a new character is introduced.

‘CAROL DANVERS AKA MS MARVEL – ENERGY ABSORPTION AND BLASTS, FLIGHT, SUPER STRENGTH, GENERAL AWESOMENESS’

Making things easy on new readers is one of Marvel’s real strengths. Although I wonder how much of this is down to the individual writer.

This comic is by far one of the funniest I have read in a long while. There isn’t a page where I’m not at the very least smiling and on most I’ve been proper laughing. I have no idea how Yost’s depiction of these characters compares to that of others, and I don’t care. This is a great introduction to quite a few Marvel stalwarts, it takes the piss out of Spidey on a regular basis, takes the piss out of cliched baddies and has a giant frog man with springs in his boots who saves the day by vomiting.

The above rundown of Yost’s comic might seem facetious at first glance, but don’t be put off. Spider Island Avengers boasts excellent, well timed dialogue, ironic and interesting takes on traditional superheroes as well as a highly humorous insight into the domestic happenings of said traditional superheroes. There is also this giant frog man who saves the day.

I also really like the art. It’s all very bold and in your face. Busy fight scenes and crowd scenes are all excellent and the colouring is super sweet. Did I mention there is a giant frog?

BUY THIS BOOK

Avengers Yay!!!

You can follow Chris Yost on twitter @yost

Linsay @softlyspokenlas


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Have an opinion? Tell us here...

